USA Canada Flag
Barbara and Victor's travels in Canada US Canada Map
Calendar itinerary
Click on a button to view movies or photos.
Map of region
The areas of Cental and Eastern Canada which Barbara and Victor are exploring comprise five provinces, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta.

Quebec is the only Canadian province with a French-speaking identity whose sole official language is French. It is Canada's largest province, three times as large as France. The narrowing of the Saint Lawrence River near Quebec City provided the name given to the city, K├ębec, which was founded in 1608 by Samuel de Champlain. It is one of the oldest cities in North America. The ramparts surrounding Old Quebec are the only remaining fortified city walls that still exist in the Americas north of Mexico.

Ontario has the largest population, and is the second largest province after Quebec. The capital of Ontario is Toronto, Canada's most populous city and metropolitan area. Ottawa, the capital of Canada, is located in Ontario as well.

Manitoba is a prairie province. Agriculture, found especially in the fertile southern and western parts of the province, dominates the province's economy. Saskatchewan is another prairie province. Settlement here started to take off as the Canadian Pacific Railway was built in the early 1880s. The North-West Mounted Police set up several posts and forts across Saskatchewan.

Movies Photos